Provincial Administration Office

Provincial Administration

Western Province, like any other province in Zambia, is headed by a full cabinet minister and there are ministries of central government for each province. The administrative head of the province is the Permanent Secretary, and is assisted by the Deputy Permanent Secretary and the Assistant Secretary in the supervision of government projects and programmes.  There are also heads of government departments and civil servants at the provincial and district level that implement government programmes. The Province is divided into sixteen administrative districts, each headed by a District Commissioner, as head for central government.

Provincial Headquarter: Mongu District

The Provincial headquarter of Western Province is Mongu which is about 600 Kilometres west of Lusaka, the capital city of Zambia. As of the 2010 Zambian Census, the District had a population of 179, 585. More than a quarter of whom live in Mongu town; the remainder live on the floodplain or its edge.